AP Photojournalist Niedringhaus Named Harvard Nieman Fellow

CAMBRIDGE, MA – Associated Press photojournalist Anja Niedringhaus of Germany is one of 28 U.S. and international journalists named today to the 69th class of Nieman Fellows at Harvard University in Cambridge.

She will study culture, history, religion and the issues of gender in the Middle East and their impact on the development of foreign policy in the United States and other Western countries, the Nieman Foundation said today. Her fellowship is also supported by the Buffett Foundation.

Niedringhaus was part of the AP team that won the 2005 Pulitzer Prize for Breaking News Photography for their coverage of the war in Iraq. She started as a freelance photographer for Neue Westfälische Zeitung in Höxter, Germany, in 1982 while still in high school, and studied philosophy and journalism at the Georg-August-Universität in Göttingen from 1986 to 1990. As a college student she covered the collapse of the Berlin Wall.

She was a staff photographer for EPA in Frankfurt from 1990 to 2002 covering wars in Croatia, Bosnia, Kosovo, and Kuwait. She joined AP as a staff photographer in Geneva, Switzerland, in 2002. She was embedded with Marines during the offensive into Fallujah, Iraq, in November 2004, and covered the bombing of Red Cross headquarters in Baghdad, the 2005 Iraqi elections, and events at Abu Ghraib prison.

Niedringhaus was also a 2005 Courage Award winner from the International Women’s Media Foundation.

Established in 1938, the Nieman program is the oldest midcareer fellowship for journalists in the world. The fellowships are awarded to working journalists of accomplishment and promise for an academic year of study at the university. More than 1,100 journalists from 77 countries have studied at Harvard as Nieman Fellows.

The Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard University also publishes the quarterly magazine Nieman Reports and is the home of the Nieman Program on Narrative Journalism and the Nieman Watchdog Journalism Project to encourage reporters and editors to monitor and hold accountable those who exert power in all aspects of public life.

A full list of winners for the 2006-2007 Nieman Fellowships is online here.